Workouts should be fun Better Fit Personal Training

I was fortunate enough to be given the opportunity to try out an official Olympic event venue earlier this year. It was on the Olympic whitewater course in Lee Valley Park. This was fortunately before the professional Olympic athletes took over!

I can wholeheartedly say that it was the experience of a lifetime. While I am used to the water (I’ve been a SCUBA Divemaster, lifeguard and swimming instructor), my whitewater experience is limited.

Perhaps that’s why I had so much adrenaline pumping throughout the entire experience. Despite the fact that the crowds were limited, the TV cameras were not upon me, and I hadn’t trained for the event- it was absolutely fantastic fun,

White water Rafting- Melissa, Personal trainer

and we all had a grin plastered on our faces throughout the entire experience… which happened to be a fantastic workout.

White water Rafting- Melissa, Personal trainer

It really reminded me how important it is to do something we love to stay fit and healthy. I know we can’t all take up whitewater rafting as our regular workout routines, but whether it’s running, skipping, dancing, playing volleyball, or canoeing, it’s so important that we do something we enjoy.

Forcing yourself to do a workout routine that you hate really isn’t the best way to get fit and stay healthy. We’re less likely to train regularly, and we’ll put less effort into our routines. So if you hate your running routine and you find it boring, try Zumba! If you hate putting yourself out there with Zumba, try swimming… There are just so many options out there that I guarantee there’s something for everyone to enjoy. Finding fun and enjoyment in your training is a surefire way to get fit in no time, since you’ll work harder, get better and go more often.

White water Rafting- Melissa, Personal trainer

Have you found your workout love? I have so many… I’d say my current favourites are yoga and free weights. Yoga is a great stress reliever, and weights make me feel strong and confident!

Is there a workout that you’d love to try out?  I haven’t tried Cross Fit yet, but I have a feeling that I’d absolutely love it!

About Melissa

I'm an Advanced Personal Trainer and Nutritional Advisor, based in Islington, London. I love living a healthy lifestyle and helping others to do the same. I share fitness and nutrition information on my blog at betterfitpersonaltraining.com/blog/ and I support my clients to get fit and healthy through my personal training and nutritional advice business, called Better Fit.

10 responses »

  1. white water rafting is my favorite thing ever, I have done it twice and really want to go again.

  2. Karen says:

    I got the opportunity to go whitewater rafting on the course they used in the Sydney Olympics and found it absolutely terrifying ! I have never wanted something to be over faster. I agree though, you have to find something you love, my current favourites are yoga and running and I’d love to give circus silks a go, my sister-in-law does it and it looks so fun.

  3. Jess says:

    Whitewater rafting looks like a blast! I’m with you I enjoy heaps of different kinds of exercise. I’ve also never tried cross fit, but I’m definitely intrigued.

    • Melissa says:

      Yeah, I’ve found a place not too far from my house that does it, so I’ll definitely be giving cross fit a go. I’ll definitely do a post about it… Not until after my holiday though! I’m off on Saturday for 2 weeks and can’t wait!

  4. White water rafting is an epic experience! I did it once my senior year of high school and definitely want to do it again, maybe next spring! I want to try more yoga classes… but different types of them until I find the right fit for me

    • Melissa says:

      Yoga is great, but you’re right, there are so many different types, and they each feel so completely different. Sounds like a fun thing to investigate finding the right one for you!

  5. This is AMAZINGLY the most awesome activity I have seen on a blog in a LONG time! How fun! I am looking into Bikram Yoga (yes I have not tried it…) and am excited to see what all the HORAW is about Love and Shine CourtStar

It's great to hear from and get to know visitors. Please leave a comment while you're here!

